If you live in Arkansas, you may have some questions about the Arkansas medical marijuana application process. If so, this article will answer some of the most common questions about applying for medical marijuana in the state. The state passed most of its medical marijuana program in November 2016. Issue six of the act proposed an amendment to the state constitution.
This amendment established a system for growing, distributing, and purchasing medical marijuana. It provided legal protections for doctors and patients and formed the Medical Marijuana Commission. Afterward, the state joined many others in allowing for legal use of cannabis for medical purposes.
If you are a resident of Arkansas suffering from a chronic and debilitating condition, you may qualify for a medical marijuana card. However, you must meet certain conditions. Some of the questions you may be having about the Arkansas medical marijuana application process include.
What Is The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card?
To access medical cannabis dispensaries in Arkansas, you must first apply for and obtain a medical marijuana card. This card aims to help people with a legitimate and qualifying medical condition.
How Do People Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Arkansas?
After the passing of the Medical Marijuana Act in Arkansas, nothing much happened for a few months. In June 2017, however, Arkansas started accepting applications for the MMJ card through the state’s Department of Health. Before going any further, you need to understand that you must be an Arkansas resident aged at least 18 years to qualify for the MMJ ID card. The steps involved in applying for the card are:
- Schedule a consultation with a qualified and licensed physician.
- Submit your application to the Arkansas Department of Health.
- If successful, find the nearest dispensaries.
Are There Specialty Marijuana Card Clinics In Arkansas?
Initially, it was quite difficult to find a doctor who was ready and willing to approve medical marijuana in Arkansas. In October 2019, however, everything changed when an MMJ card clinic opened in Fayetteville. This was the first specialty MMJ card provider in the state. Today, there are many such clinics in different locations across Arkansas. You simply need to bring your medical records to one of the clinics as proof of your qualifying medical condition.
What Is The Cost Of An Arkansas Medical Marijuana Application?
You will have to pay a non-refundable fee of $50 to apply to the Arkansas Department of Health for a medical marijuana card. The cost of a doctor’s consultation, however, varies depending on where you go. You may have to pay anywhere between $120 and $270 for the consultation. However, if you are an established patient, you will probably pay less. When your card expires, you will have to pay $50 to renew it. Some providers also charge a fee for a follow-up visit.
What Are Some Of The Qualifying Conditions Required To Acquire An Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card?
In Arkansas, many medical conditions will qualify you for a medical marijuana card. Some of these conditions include HIV/AIDS, Crohn’s disease, cancer, Alzheimer’s disease, glaucoma, and fibromyalgia. Others are ALS, PTSD, severe nausea, severe arthritis, wasting syndrome, Tourette’s syndrome, and seizures.
Even if you do not have any of these conditions, you may still qualify for a medical marijuana card. However, you will need to petition the state’s department of health for consideration of your specific ailment. A hearing will take place, which will determine whether the department will approve or deny your application within 120 days.
If you are interested in even more lifestyle-related articles and information from us here at Bit Rebels, then we have a lot to choose from.